• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cutting Pads with the PC - Good idea?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting Pads with the PC - Good idea?

Cutting Pads with the PC - Is this a good idea?

I'm new to detailing and I just bought a porter cable 7424 with a bunch of lake country pads. Few questions now.

1. Do I gotta tape up the parts of the car where the wax shouldn't go (ie: door cracks, windows, mirrors, etc)?

2. Im using a few things, should I follow this order with these pads?
    * Wash
    * Clay
    * Swirl Remover - Orange pad cutting pad
    * Cleaner wax - White pad
    * Sealant/Polish - Black pad
    * Wax - Black pad

Thanks in advance
    Mayur
    2005 Toyota Camry LE Phantom Grey Pearl
    2001 Toyota Corolla LE Silverstream Opalescent
    1996 Lexus ES300 Ruby Pearl

Re: New to detailing

To answer your first question. No, you dont gotta tape them off. You will wish you had when it comes time to clean those trim items. So yes you should. It will save you time in the long run and keep your car looking better.

As for your second question I have never used LakeCounty pads so I dont know how they compare to Meg's pads. But your product choice and the order seem good.

Oh and Welcome to MOL.
    You left out licking the water off. Oh, wait a minute, that's my cat, not my car. Uh, I mean my cat licks himself dry. I don't lick my cat dry. Or my car. -PC.

Comment

1. You dont have to tape... but you'll be sorry if you dont.