• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

HELP! White car + cleaner wax = Yellow car

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP! White car + cleaner wax = Yellow car

Ok guys, I'm freaking out.... I have a white talon that has oxidized paint. This is my first try at detailing this ride. I cleaned it throughly with meg's car wash, 2 buckets, the right way according to what I know. Then I tried some cleaner wax. I wasn't sure if I should polish first or just use the wax. I figured this is the less abrasive path, so I'll try just the cleaner wax first. I applied a decent coat let it dry for 30 mins or so and have been buffing the **** out of it for the last 2 hrs. The yellow tint of the wax soaked into my paint o.0 !!! I can't get it out to save my life. My paint was dull before, but white. Now it's semi-dull yellow. Looks like the front of my car sat in a bar for 2 years. Somebody, plz give me some advice.... I was trying to save my paint until I could afford to get it sprayed right. Now, it would look better in primer grey, I didn't see an old white car warning on this stuff.

Hi cyberslug,

Welcome to Meguiar's Online!

In the last 2 years we've seen people come to the forum and claim our products have dyed their paint a different color and after calmer heads have prevailed, each time it turned out not to be the case at all. So let's look at your situation from that viewpoint, plus in all my years of hands-on experience I've never seen paint dyed by a Meguiar's product.

First, what year is your Eagle Talon? I'm pretty sure all Talons came with a clear coat finish. This being true, then you're not working on white paint, you're working on clear resin, i.e. a clear coat finish.