• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

When you make a mistake.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When you make a mistake.....

Hey there, from the number of posts count, it's obvious I'm a noob, so a big HI to everyone!

I've always loved cars and have for the longest time, wanted to clean, polish, and wax my car personally, but there is a fear of messing up big time on the paint job, and a couple of grand needed to correct it.

So my post here is this - there are many guides on how to use the excellent products from Meguiar's, but for someone like me (and there probably aren't that many), what would really be helpful was a guide on what to do if I should mess up.

For example: If I have applied too much of Scratch X, what should I do? Or if I have left the Paint Cleaner on for too long, and I can't buff it off easily, how do I correct it?

I honestly feel that for some (among my friends at least), not polishing and waxing their own cars is primarily a fear of fouling up the paint job.

Any help would be great - perhaps a sticky so that the information is easily found by all who may need it one day...

Just my 2 cents....
    It's all a passion....

Well, I've been having the same problem removing the paint cleaner. I assume your talking about DC1. I live in an area where it is very humid - 95%+. I get the paint cleaner off by using a towel. There is usually a little left - kind of a streaky film left on the paint. I just go ahead and use the polish, DC2, and it removes it.

How bad are the scratches left by ScratchX? I've never gotten anything. I know that DC1 has a very mild scratch remover which does a pretty good job of removing light swirls. Maybe that could work...