• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

#7 Polish...My missing step that I found!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• #7 Polish...My missing step that I found!!!

Hello all. I just wanted share my experience as i've been a long time user of Meguiars products. Recently (within the last 3 years) I have been seriously researching the art of detailing automobiles; the and do's and don'ts, the products that work, processes/tips that help.

To keep a long story short, I am by no means a professional detailer, but i do have a garage full of products (mostly meguiars). I do all of my waxing by hand (i still have yet to invest in an orbital buffer). In the last 7 years, I have owned 5 cars, 4 of them being black...yes, no need for me to explain WHY all of a sudden I became obsessed with detailing as my black cars are enough of an excuse!!! I have been a die-hard Carnuba wax fan from the beginning and I don't think I will ever drift too far away from carnuba waxes for my black cars.

Anyway, I currently own a 2004 Infiniti G35 Coupe (Black, bought used). Before this car I had a 2005 Nissan 350Z (black, bought new). Now with the 350z having fresh paint with only 7 miles on the odometer, I didn't worry too much about the shine, but boy was i wrong. Minor swirl marks from the factory made me cringe. The steps I used to get this car shining again were:
    1. Wash car (all the appropriate goodies:soap, mitts, etc...)
    2. Zymol Cleaner Wax
    3. Meguiars NXT Wax
    4. In between waxes I'd use Mequiars Quick Wax spray