• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Egged and key scratched, please advise what I should do!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Egged and key scratched, please advise what I should do!

Key scratch...

Egged damage...

My car's color is a tri-coat Ivory Pearl. For the scratch, I can see that the layer of the metallic flakes has gone already. Do I need to touch up or I can only wet sand it and polish away? For the egged damage, I know I need to touch up, but is the dark chip the metal or the primer? Before touching up, anything I can do to improve it?

I am very new to detailing, please help and give me some detailed advice.

Thanks.

Re: Egged and key scratched, please advise what I should do!

Originally posted by DrTech View Post
    My car's color is a tri-coat Ivory Pearl. For the scratch, I can see that the layer of the metallic flakes has gone already. Do I need to touch up or I can only wet sand it and polish away?

If the scratch is through the clear and through the metallic portion, then sanding will only act to remove more paint and will not fix the problem but make it worse. We doubt that not even the most skilled artist in the world could apply touch-up paint in a way as to make the defect look better. Chances are that if you want it to look better or unoticable you'll have to have the panel re-painted.

For the egged damage, I know I need to touch up, but is the dark chip the metal or the primer? Before touching up, anything I can do to improve it?