• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Handy Buffer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Handy Buffer

Yesterday my friend gave this to me. He said he found it at work and they didn't want it, so he gave it to his car detailing friend, ME!! It's a Black and Decker Handy Buffer. On the side it says 120V, .7 amps. It doesn't have speed control....or else I'm not seeing it lol. It looks like it's just on or off. I looked around on the internet and found out that it is a 7" random orbit polisher. I turned it on and it works...and sure enough it's random orbit as well. I have never used a buffer before and I guess I was wondering if this is similar to a PC, or is it not as powerful? Could it be used to actually polish cars (with 80 or 83) or is this supposed to just be for applying wax? Hopefully someone can give me some more info on this thing. Thanks so much!!

Re: Handy Buffer

Forgot the pics!!

Comment

My family gave me one of those in the early 90's. I personally used it three times. Thought there was a learning curve to it. It was okay if you had low goals. Not powerful enough to remove swirls, scratches, etc. If all you wanted to do is buff out your wax, it will do. Overall, it was ok. If you waxed your vehicle every three months and that was the extent of your passion.
      quality creates its own demand

Comment

At 0.7A it has less than a fifth of the power of a PC and it's trying to swing a bigger pad so it won't really be able to remove any significant paint defects.

It should be OK for spreading products that only need to be applied onto a finish rather than worked into a finish.

Rotary vs PC vs Regular Orbital Buffer

PC.

Comment