• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Orbital Tips Please...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Orbital Tips Please...

So, I finally started using an orbital (I'm a beginner so I feel like this was a good place to start), but I have some questions, please bear with me...

My orbital is a little 6 inch thing, that doesn't have a lot of power (which is probably a good thing for me). LOL I bought three different types of buffing bonnets (foam, micro fiber and 100% cotton terry). So here are my questions...

1. Which bonnet should I use for what purpose? ie: Should I use the foam bonnet to put wax on? If so, how should I remove it?

2. Which bonnet should I use for putting on the polish (I use #7)? How should I remove the polish, by hand or with the orbital? If it is with the orbital, which bonnet should I use (foam, MF or terry)?

3. Should I use the orbital when I'm applying the paint cleaner (#3) or do I run the risk of creating scratches or swirl marks?

4. Can I use the orbital with Scratch X, if so, will it have any "added benefit" over using Scratch X by hand?

Some of this stuff is redundant, but I still confused by it all.
    ----------------------------------

3Fitty - Now recommending products I have never used.

Re: Orbital Tips Please...

Foam bonnets differ greatly in quality and aggressiveness. The ones that I found around here were almost at a cutting pad level - very firm and rough. It's hard to say which ones will be okay. There are many generic brands to consider, too.