• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Going to detail for the first time

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going to detail for the first time

Hey guys, this is my first time detailing the car so I was wondering if I was doing this right (I've read through alot of posts but thought it wouldn't hurt to make one of my own).

1. Rinse the car off with water
    2. Wash with Meguiars Gold Class Car wash
    3. Dry car with microfiber towel
    4. Apply Meguiar's DC paint cleaner (Part 1 of 3 step process).
    5. Apply Meguiar's DC Polish (Part 2 of 3 step process)
    6. Apply Meguiars Gold Class Wax (Liquid)
    7. Use a microfiber cloth for the "final wipe"

I have a few questions though:
    1. I live in Arizona so the water dry's up pretty fast and the way our house is located, the only time I have to wash my car is in the morning (most of the time the sun is already up) and the water dry's up pretty fast. Any idea's on how I should wash my car without the soap drying fast? Someone told me that I should soap one part of the car, rinse off the entire car, soap second part of car, rinse entire car, etc... until I am done. Anything easier than that?

2. Is it ok if I apply the paint cleaner and polish with microfiber towels? (I only have one applicator currently for the wax but that will change soon)

3. How long should I wait for the wax before wiping it off? I know that the standard answer is let it haze but I read in another post that a user left it on for a hour and let the wax over dry and it left a white powder. So 30 min seems like a good estimate on how long I should let the wax stay on before wiping it off?