• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

5 Step paint care cycle.....questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5 Step paint care cycle.....questions

Howdy folks,
    I have a 2001 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner pickup truck, color is Silver Ice and I haven't been taking care of the paint like I should. It hasn't been waxed in 2.5 years but I plan on changing that ( I don't have any swirling). I was looking at the 5 step paint care cycle and came up with the following and since I'm new at this I wanted to submit it for review.

1. Wash ( I have a jug of the Deep Crystal Wash)
    2. Claybar then Deep Crystal System Paint Cleaner
    3.Cleaner/Polish ??
    4.Wax (Gold Class Wax)
    5.Quik Detalier/Quik Wax

As far as polish goes I read in another thread that it is optional and best for darker color cars. Is this something I should do anyways and just use a Pure Polish for step 3? Concerning the claybar, I never heard of this but for my truck I would use it just on the hood, top of bed and roof? Wanted to make sure I understood it correctly. I already own the Car Wash and Gold class Wax. I am open to any ideas or specific Meguiars products I should use. Thanks for the input and time. One more question, what is the best way to dry my truck (so I don't have water spots) before doing the Claybar or Paint cleaner? Just use a Chamois?

Paul
    Last edited by paulSC; Dec 28, 2004, 12:38 PM.

Re: 5 Step paint care cycle.....questions

Hi Paul,

Welcome to Meguiar's Online!

Originally posted by paulSC
    Howdy folks,
    I have a 2001 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner pickup truck color is Silver Ice and I haven't been taking care of the paint like I should.