• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hints & Tips On How To Repair Rock Chips.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hints & Tips On How To Repair Rock Chips.

Hi Guys,

My friend has filled around 20 rock chips on his hood of his Pearl Black Golf with a tooth pick. He has used the black pearl not the cc to fill the chips. A few are slightly raised and blobed on.

Im not a complete novice but would like a few pointers.

I have megs unigrit sanding paper 3000/2500/2000/1500. And a small pencil eraser.

The method i was thinking of following is:-

Check the paint depth to see how much paint I have to play with first.

I then plan to cut the paper into small strips and hold the paper either side of the eraser.

Let the paper soak in water with a small drop of gold class plus shampoo.

Put some water in a spray bottle with a small drop of gold class plus and use as a lube.

I will work the paper diagonally across the chip to avoid and debris getting under the paper and putting scratches into the finish. I plan to do around 10 to 12 strokes with the paper. And check my progress.

Megs rule of thumb least aggresive first. So I was thinking of trying 3000 grit first and seeing how I get on. maybe I need to step the grit up to 2500? Guys what do you think?

Once all chips are level to the surface I was thinking of using scratch x 2.0 on a megs soft foam applicator then following this up with U/C on my D/A?

Any hints or tips guys?

Many Thanks in advance, Looks like I have a busy w end ahead

Rappy

Re: Hints & Tips On How To Repair Rock Chips.

I think it might be more than one drop of soap, but not sure.

Either way, I would do one chip first before doing all and getting stuck.