• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

detailing help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• detailing help

Hey all, im pretty new to detailing and need some advice. iv detaild my car 2 times and got it looking alot better then it was. i have a few scratches, some light oxidation on the hood, and endless deap swirl marks! iv tryed diffrent brand and ended up with the best, meguiars! so if anyone has some advice on what products to get and in what order i would greatly apriciate it!

My products: nxt car wash, quick interior detailer, natural shine vinyl & rubber protectant, nxt speed detailer, #9 swirl remover 2.0, deep crystal paint cleaner, #7 show car glaze, gold class liquid car wax, scratchx, plastx.

I was thinkin of using #9, paint cleaner, #7, Wax; in that order

I also have a random orbatal buffer, and i just got #9 have not used it yet.

swirl marks

Reflection on hood

my reflection on the hood

#9 is probably their mildest polish and not very effective at removing swirls. First completely wash and clay the car so you are not polishing dirt against the car. The next steps up in the world of polish are #80 and #83. I say go to the top, #83 and get some advice from Mike on how to do it here - http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums...&threadid=7034

After the polishing you need to protect the paint #7 is a good middle step for an extra deep shine and then NXT Tech Wax will help fill in the swirls you missed.

Comment

Hi wild_dog_86,