• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Protection In Winter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Protection In Winter

I'm a newbie to this forum and detailing. I have a black car(recently repaint 2 weeks ago) and would like to protect it during the winter months. I'm college student and live in an apartment with no garage. So I was was curious how to protect my car during the winter months.

I have just recently purchased:

#7 glaze
    #26 wax
    scratchx
    nxt wax

n e thoughts will be much appreciated!!!

Well, you wont be able to do too much til lthe paint has cured.

But when it does, you will have a good start there. A good car wash solution, even if you have to use it at the coin operated places will also be good, and the Quick Clay is also good.

Nxt seems like the best lasting wax, so 2 thin coats of that will be about the best you can get for winter.
    2017 Subaru WRX Premium - WR Blue

Comment

Welcome, ht4lyfe.

I'd first clean things up with a good wash, I like Gold Class Wash or NXT Tech Wash. Follow that with Meguiar's Quik Clay system.

Then using the products you have, I'd go over the car with ScratchX, followed by #7 Speed Glaze, NXT Tech Wax (x2), and top with #26. If you can, wait 12-24 hours in between applications of NXT and also the #26 to let the polymers time to set up.

This should keep your car fairly well protected through the winter.
      Jim
      My Gallery

Comment

In the mean time, apply #7 to your car on a weekly basis if possible......After washing it of course.

This will help to offer some sort of protection until the paint cures.
        r. b.

Comment