• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Beginner from Albany, NY

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner from Albany, NY

Hey everyone

I've been using Meguiar's products for a few months now and I really like them.

My current Meguiar's lineup isn't big but I have the Deep Crystal line, ScratchX and the Cleaner Wax.

I really want to get into a small business doing cars at my house so I'll probably ask a lot about products.

I have an 88 Dodge Shadow that I constantly detail and work on. I used ScratchX with *8* coats today and got the scratch to not show as badly, but still didn't go away. I used the technique of rubbing it in (at least 5 minutes rubbing with pressure) and then re-waxing it. Could just be really hard paint.

Right now these will be my next purchases.

UQD
    Meguiar's Hot Wheels
    Smooth Surface Clay Kit
    Meguiar's Dual Action
    NXT 2.0 Wax

I'm not sure what I need after that?

Anyways, I think I put too much in this post. :P

Regards,
    Ken

Re: Beginner from Albany, NY

5 minutes sounds like working it in too much... one application in a small area shouldnt really last that long. But the paint itself is also a factor.

There is all kinds of stuff to get... here are some good links for the G110/110, and in general. After that, wheel products, glass cleaners, all purpose cleaners, trim detailers, tire shine, interior products, metal polishes... towels, cloths, sponges, Grit Guards, soaps.... there are a lot of things. You'll definately want some #80 though, not sure about #105 with just a PC.

Meguiar's 5-Step Paint Care Cycle
    Step 1 Wash
    Step 2 Clean
    Step 3 Polish
    Step 4 Protect
    Step 5 Maintain