PDA

View Full Version : 2-Bucket or 3-Bucket Method?

capj6
Aug 16th, 2008, 03:02 PM
Newbie here. I've read about the 2-bucket (0ne for soap and the other for rinse) But what about a 3rd bucket just for the wheels? Does this make sense or completely unnecessary? Thanks in advance.

Nappers
Aug 16th, 2008, 03:10 PM
Since coming here, I use the 3 bucket system, I fill up a bucket with soapy water as normal then scrub the wheels (both buckets turn black) then dump and start fresh for the rest of the car.

Hate to get some of that grime from the wheels onto the car!

I live in a rural area and my cars get dirty.

seth1066
Aug 16th, 2008, 04:54 PM
Two buckets, then when finished with the body, do the wheels.

VoicesInMyHead
Aug 16th, 2008, 04:55 PM
Two buckets, then when finished with the body, do the wheels.
:iagree:
Saves water too! :doublethumbsup2

RDVT4ME
Aug 16th, 2008, 08:22 PM
I have used the 3 bucket method for years. Start with the wheels and finish with the body....less time for water spots to happen.

J. A. Michaels
Aug 17th, 2008, 04:20 AM
3 buckets here also.

RacerX88
Aug 17th, 2008, 04:26 AM

angeloabbattista
Aug 17th, 2008, 04:27 AM
3 bucket here to.

erobertson
Aug 17th, 2008, 09:55 AM
I like the three bucket method myself. Found I could get the wheels done out of one and then move on to body from top down with the other two and get the whole job done much quicker. We've got a Lexus IS that generates tremendous amount of brake dust, no reason to risk getting that on the paint.

theeng
Aug 17th, 2008, 09:58 AM
I watched the video on the net with mike phillips washing the mini cooper. Where can I get the three bucket system with the dollies.
thanks

acsuppa
Aug 17th, 2008, 12:37 PM

:iagree: Same here. Three buckets seem to be overkill. I can see if your washing multiple vehicles but two are just fine.

BlueZero
Aug 17th, 2008, 04:25 PM
:hide1

One bucket here. I know, I know!

Markus Kleis
Aug 17th, 2008, 05:17 PM