PDA

View Full Version : Rate Your Skill Level

Michael Stoops
Aug 24th, 2010, 03:13 PM
All egos aside, how far has your detailing education progressed?

FinalTouchDetail
Aug 24th, 2010, 03:52 PM
I have a couple hundred hours into DA polishing and have used a dozen different polishes/compounds and 7-8 different types of pads from Chemical Guys and Lake Country from their red/blue finishing pads to purple hybrid foam/wool Kompressor pads.

I have not gotten into rotary buffing or wet sanding paint yet.

With that said, I gave myself a BA ranking.

BobbyG
Aug 24th, 2010, 04:11 PM
I've been painting and detailing cars for nearly 40 years. When I started a rotary and wool bonnets were all we had to work with. Wet sanding was done by hand for the most part and 800 wet/dry paper was about it.

Through the years there have been marked improvements in equipment, sanding, and chemicals which has caused the trade to literally explode! Slow-start variable speed rotary's to DA polishers are incredible additions.

Foam pads are another great discovery. Learning and knowing what pad to use with which chemical at what speed takes time but give the user a tremendous amount of flexibility when correcting a fiinish.

I tried damp sanding a clear coat which uses 3000 grit wet/dry paper on a DA sander with a few squirts of water. It sand so slow and finely I was really surprised.

Tuck91
Aug 24th, 2010, 04:13 PM
Ba

J. A. Michaels
Aug 24th, 2010, 05:05 PM
I would have to give me a ba, also.

AdvanceDetail
Aug 24th, 2010, 06:30 PM
My guess would be right between MBA and Ph.d iam very good at polishing but i havent taken the time to realy do wet/dry sanding, iam moving into that area tho, i just ordered the full line of Unigrit papers and backing plates.

InfiniteDetail
Aug 24th, 2010, 06:48 PM
Ph.D - Mike and I damp/wetsand and rotary just about every car we work on and have dozens of wetsanded/dampsanded cars under our belts now

Bill Davidson
Aug 24th, 2010, 09:20 PM