PDA

View Full Version : Changing Speed.



KLnyc
Jun 14th, 2005, 04:57 PM
Hiya,

Will it hurt my rotary, if I change the speed from 900 to 1600rpm and vice versa :confused:

The way I do it(still doing it) I start out in low rpm, so my compound is evenlly spread out. Then I stop and crank up my speed to what ever RPM I desired.

thanks
ken

rusty bumper
Jun 14th, 2005, 05:08 PM
Originally posted by KLnyc
Hiya,

Will it hurt my rotary, if I change the speed from 900 to 1600rpm and vice versa :confused:

The way I do it(still doing it) I start out in low rpm, so my compound is evenlly spread out. Then I stop and crank up my speed to what ever RPM I desired.

thanks
ken
Hi Ken,

I'm not experienced with a rotary, but sometimes, I use the same low/hi speed combo with my PC......Mainly with cleaners.

I don't see any harm in what your doing, but I'll let the others give their opinions here on the matter.

KLnyc
Jun 15th, 2005, 03:16 AM
Come on Mike Philips chime in :D

the other pc
Jun 15th, 2005, 08:38 AM
Assuming it's a variable speed rotary and you're just spinning the dial and/or squeezing the trigger to adjust speed it won't hurt it. That is what it's designed for.


PC.

KLnyc
Jun 15th, 2005, 09:20 AM
Yep variable speed (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0000223IZ/ref=pd_sxp_f/102-9195440-4825745?v=glance&s=hi)


Thanks the other pc,