• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will be doing TWO extreme makeovers... I need some advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will be doing TWO extreme makeovers... I need some advice

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting. i've been around the detailing world for a while, but for the first time I've got the desire to really work it in depth.

Now, I've typically never typically done anything besides wash/claybar/wash/3 step before, but I want to get a little more in depth.

All I have is an orbital buffer (which doesn't seem to be worth its weight in landfill, LOL), but I'm still leary of using a buffer or a rotary.

I currently have (from meguiar's), the NXT car wash, the 3 step process, (cleaner/polish/wax), the NXT wax booster?? i think it is, and the hot rims wheel cleaner.

Here's what I have to work on:
    1999 Pontiac Trans Am.
    Now, this car is my baby. I bought it about 100% stock, with 77k miles on it. Runs perfectly well, fast (will be faster), loaded. Only thing is its paint is swirled to beat the band, and the chrome wheels need a little love.

Next up is the beater - 1992 nissan sentra.
    I figure this car will be as good as any to experiment on. It's red, but you can tell it's not as red as the TA anymore. There's a few spots where it's faded really bad, as well as some pretty nice scratches on the trunk lid.

Having said all that, I'd really like to do all the work by hand, because 1) I'm "cost effective" lol, and 2) I'm really leary of screwing up on the TA.

What products do I need besides what I have listed? I have also non-meg's clay, but that's about it. Thanks for any advice in advance! of course, pictures before and after will come!