• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help fix my faded Honda

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help fix my faded Honda

Hello,

I'm pretty new to the the detailing scene, but being into cars for a long time, it's time I learn some proper techniques.

This is my 92 Honda Civic. I have about 8 different 'project' cars in various shapes of repair right now, but this one easily has the worst paint.

I'm planning on selling the car because I have too many other projects, but I would like to get the car looking as respectable as I can first.

These are all the 'before' pictures, but since then I've been playing around a little bit with a rotary, an 8" W4000 wool pad, and some #2 Fine-Cut compound.

My first questions are in regards to the products to use. I'm worried about getting the dull, oxidized, and damaged paint looking shiny first before worrying about swirls and scratches.

I don't know the product line well at all, but every post I have read seems to be people using products #80 & #83, but the local stores only seem to carry #2 & #9 around here. For my application, is the #2 Compound the right one to be using?

to MOL, fellow canadian! you are talking about Canadian Tire aren't you?
    well go to NAPA and get them to order you M80 and M83
    I dont like playing around with a rotary, so i would do it by hand! First i would wash the car, then i would use Deep Crystal step 1 to remove the oxidation, then i would clay to remove surface contaminants, then i would use ColourX if i was in a hurry or i would use ScratchX then DC2 then NXT tech wax

to summarize
    wash--> DC1-->clay--> ColourX
    Or
    wash--> DC1-->clay--> ScratchX-->DC2 polish---> NXT tech wax