• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting $1300, should I get an extractor?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting $1300, should I get an extractor?

OK, here's my situation. I've been detailing for a couple years now. I am proficient with both PC and rotary and IMO do a pretty darn good job. I mainly do family cars, as well as my own, and do the occasional detail for a friend (one or two a month). This summer I'd like to step it up, and I'd like to get to the point where I'm detailing three or more cars a week. When I mention to people that this is what I do, people are usually more interested in getting their interiors "really" clean. This has lead me to start looking into an extractor. Now, I've got a refund check from the local Toyota dealership because I traded my truck in without even going over the factory warranty, much less the extended 6 year/100,000 mile warranty I bought. I'll be getting around $1300 back. I was thinking of taking that money and buying a good extractor.

The ability to do interiors professionally and efficiently should be a good moneymaker for me if I can get clients. I have a few parents of friends with BMWs, Mercedes, and SUVs that are interested in my services, but I haven't nailed anything down yet. I'm thinking if I can do a few "full" details (exterior prep, polish wax, interior carpet extraction, dressing, etc) at $200+ each it should pay for itself in no time (just a little side note, is a $200 starting price for a full treatment too high, low?). My thought against it is I don't even really have a client base yet, maybe I should just wait until I actually have customers before making such a large purchase.