• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Micro-marring

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Micro-marring

I have been using my PC for about 8 months now. I got pretty good results when I started using Meguiars. However, recently, after making a few passes with #80 on a #8006 pad I have noticed that there is almost always some micro-marring. Yesterday, I did a test with a brand new pad, and I still noticed the micro-marring.

I am reluctant to blame this on my PC (the one not branded by Meguiars). However, I have been having to use it on speed 6 because when I use it on speed 5, it will not spin if I apply even a little pressure. I am curious, by using the PC on speed 6, could I be causing the micro-marring?

As to the micro-marring...

Are you removing the deeper defects that you don't want to see in the finish?

As to the rotating of the pad... There is so much information in a forum we call, Hot Topics, here's page 3 of a related topic. I wrote a rather lengthy, but hopefully you'll agree a well thought out explanation of reality on this page.

Mike Phillips
    760-515-0444
    showcargarage@gmail.com

"Find something you like and use it often"

Comment

Just to note...

Some paint systems are more susceptible to micro-marring than others. In these cases you might want to try a less aggressive product like either M82 or M09, or even M66 for a follow-up pass.

Meguiar's never recommends using anything past the 5.0 setting on the PC but it has more to do with the heat generated by the motor causing the Velcro to de-laminate from the backing plate and the foam.
      Mike Phillips
      760-515-0444
      showcargarage@gmail.com

Comment

What do you mean by "a few passes?"