• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New Car - Three Step Process?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Car - Three Step Process?

Hello, I am a noob to the forum and to car care in general.

I just purchased a 2006 Jetta and want to see if i'm off base on this as a way to get a good start with exterior car care.

My plan for the weekend...
    1. A good washing
    2. Meguiars NXT tech Wax ($14.99!!) and plan to apply per instructions
    3. Bought a sealant and plan to apply etc.

Am I missing or adding something I shouldn't??

Thanks in advance

Well, it depends on how much time you want to put into it, but here are two basic processes to follow:

1. Wash
    2. Clay - MEguias Smooth Surface CLay kit
    3. Clean - Deep Crstal #1 is a good mild cleaner
    4. Polish - DC#2 is a good polish
    5. Wax - Nxt Tech Wax is good. Remember 2 thin coats is best, or 1 Nxt and 1 of you other one.

OR:

1. Wash
    2. Clay
    3. ColorX - This is a great one step product.
    4. Wax - Nxt Tech Wax

Basicaly, the routine you mentioned did not have any sort of cleaning/polishing steps, and even though it seems like new paint should be perfect, there is still dirt to get out and little imperfections to fill in.

Claying is a bit more optional, but personaly, I would highly recomend it for a new car.

Hope that helps a little, or ask some more
    Last edited by Murr1525; Jul 29, 2006, 12:48 PM.
    2017 Subaru WRX Premium - WR Blue

Comment

Thanks Murr1525

Didn't think about the polishing step since it was new, but you're right. I've already noticed 'stuff' that's hard to get off the paint. Thanks!

Comment