• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

does cleaning, polishing, then using a cleaner wax (like 66) defeat the purpose?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• does cleaning, polishing, then using a cleaner wax (like 66) defeat the purpose?

I'm still learning, learning more and more every time I detail a car. Really getting technique down and I think I've gotten a long way.

I did have a question though. On a FULL detail, something that required something like #83 and a rotary, followed by a lesser strength cleaner/polish, does it defeat the purpose of the POLISH part to use a cleaner wax like 66 or the consumer line cleaner wax?

Matthew 19:26

I suppose the answer is sort of.

You could do something like #83 -> #66 -> Pure wax if wanted.

But to do #83, #80, #66, pure wax if wanted, I think #66 is close enough to #80 in cleaning ability that you arent going to get any real benefit, and the #80 will have more polishing oils, etc, to really make things look better.

If you are going to use #66, I think it should be to cut out steps, save some time.

So to summarize:

1. Good: #83 -> #80 -> Wax -> Wax
    2. Good: #83 -> #66 -> Wax

3. Bad: #83 -> #80 -> #66 -> Wax
    2017 Subaru WRX Premium - WR Blue

Comment

Re: does cleaning, polishing, then using a cleaner wax (like 66) defeat the purpose?

Originally posted by navyblue2000
      On a FULL detail, something that required something like #83 and a rotary, followed by a lesser strength cleaner/polish, does it defeat the purpose of the POLISH part to use a cleaner wax like 66 or the consumer line cleaner wax?