• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mixing product on PC pads

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mixing product on PC pads

Hello all,

I’m a total novice at polishing and everything associated with it so please bare with me.
    I just got a Porter Cable for my B-Day (My girlfriend rocks)
    I ordered the hook & Loop pad kit from Meguiar’s. I know you’re not supposed to mix types of product on the same pad. My question is can you change type/brand (in the same category…wax, polish, cleaner etc.) of product once the pad has been dried and cleaned or do you have to stick with the same exact product you used originally. I like to experiment but I’d rather not spend $10 each time I do.

Thanks
    2k GTi VR6...Mostly Stock

You are right you are not suppose to mix any of the products... So this is what I do is soak my PC pads in some soapy water, I use dawn dish soap, for 10 min or so then rinse them very well making sure I get all the old products out. I then let them air dry for a few days then place them back in their unsealed plastic bags. I have done this 6-7 times now with the same pads and they look like new and I have used different products with the pads with no problems. I always have an extra set on hand though just incase on gets damaged.
    Brandon

2007 Black Chevy Avalanche

My Albums: Avalanche
    Meguiars Online Acronyms - Meguiars Product List....

Comment