• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie ? about #80

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie ? about #80

I'd like to say hello and WOW! Alot of cool info here. I'm new to this whole detailing thing ever since I picked up my car. I'm so afraid of screwing things up (BLACK paint) that it's hard for me to decide on an approach. My car had a repaint done in May by the previous owner and now it's my turn to take car of it. First off, I don't own any machines and do everything by hand. I'd like to treat the car with a #80 rub down. Can this be applied effectively by hand or is a machine application the only way to go? If the machine is required, Is there a good substitute to #80 that can be applied by hand with close to the same results. The Paint is in fairly good condition other than a few micro scratches which appear to be from dirty or improperly used towels. I have a car show to attend on Sunday with the local Mustang club and would like it to look it's best. My plan was to:
    Wash
    polish/#80
    wax?? Unsure what to use on Black but was thinking #21
    Any advise on black paint care for the newbie would be greatly appreciated
    Thanks

Re: Newbie ? about #80

#80 is best by machine.

If you are going to be working by hand for now, it is best to get products designed for use by hand. Caring for any color paint is exactly the same, black just shows your mistakes easier. Here are two routines you can use:

1. Wash - Gold Class Soap, or Nxt soap, 2-bucket method, good quality sponges/towels. And get a Grit Guard for yourself if possible.

2. Clay

3. Clean - DC#1 in general, ScractchX on swirls, fine scratches.