• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to boats

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to boats

I have a big 27 ft. boat and two jet skies to practice on. I have never done a boat before. What do I need? What do I do? How long will it take me?
    Danny Jensen, Detail Lab

Re: New to boats

Just like a car's finish you'll want to evaluate the condition of the surfaces you're working on and then let the condition of these surfaces be you guide to help you choose the right products.

Try to find out if you're working on Fiberglas gel-coat or if the boat or Jet ski's have been painted. Gel-coat is typically thicker than paint so you'll have some film build to work with, paint on the other hand is usually thin and this means no room for mistakes.

If the boat is in pretty decent shape you might want to consider using a one-step Cleaner/Wax because going around a 27' boat in one step and getting great results will be a real time saver versus going around a boat using a multiple-step process which if you consider just the wipe off of products it's enough to make you tired.
    Mike Phillips
    760-515-0444
    showcargarage@gmail.com

"Find something you like and use it often"

Comment