• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Appreciate advice on removing swirl marks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Appreciate advice on removing swirl marks

I'm brand new to the world of detailing. I have a 2002 Obsidan Black Mercedes E-series that has swirls marks all over. This is not noticable in the shade but only in the sun. After seeing an ad on TV, I went to Meguires' web site and found a number of products that seem to address this problem (Swirl Remover, Scratch -X, Speed Glaze, Swirl Free Polish, etc...) I would appreciate any advice as to what might be the best choice/approach to this problem. In addition to removing the swirls is there a recommended 2nd and/or 3rd application (product) to really amplify the shine?

Thanks,

Tom

Re: Appreciate advice on removing swirl marks

Hi Tom, Welcome to Meguiar's Online!

I'm guessing you want to do this all by hand? Doing the entire car will be a workout. But if that's that case, I would recommend ScratchX. How to remove a defect by hand with ScratchX

If you would want to step up to using a machine like the G100, then you would want to start with #80 Speed Glaze. The G100 really isn't that hard to learn to use. Using the G-100 to remove swirls with the Professional Line

Getting the black to look good, I would try NXT from the consumer line. It's easy to use and works great. Should be able to find it just about anywhere also.

If you have anymore questions, feel free to ask. We are here to help.
    Scott

Comment

Originally posted by tomb13 View Post

I would appreciate any advice as to what might be the best choice/approach to this problem.