• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

new to detailing.. PC question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new to detailing.. PC question...

im new to detailing..currently use dc1 and dc2 and NXT wax all by hand with great results..

im looking to start using a pc....but dont know which one(s) to get...and their accessories...

i'd want to apply cleaners, polishes and waxes...

and,.....can i continue to use these consumer products or need to switch to detailing products/professional products?

thanks a lot...

john

Re: new to detailing.. PC question...

G100A:

Meguiars G100A Polisher - Lifetime warranty, 5 ounce counter weight, one backing plate and one pad is included - Meguiars G-100A

Porter Cable 7336(considered a sander) - one year warranty, 6 ounce counter weight and you will have to buy the Meguiars DA Velcro Buffing System (contains: one backing plate, two soft buff polishing pads and one soft buff finishing pad)

Porter Cable 7424(considered a polisher) - one year warranty, 5 ounce counter weight and you will have to buy the Meguiars DA Velcro Buffing System (contains: one backing plate, two soft buff polishing pads and one soft buff finishing pad)

All three machines(the power unit itself)are basically the same. You need to get Meguiars brand pads if you go with either Porter-Cable (7424/7336) version, do not use the included white pad.

The two different counter weights won't make a difference, here is a test "Jimmy Buffit" did: The Dual Action Counterweight 'Controversy'