• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Car Washing Techniques

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Car Washing Techniques

Can you guys explain how you wash and dry your car? I'm a newbie to detailing and I'd like to get it right without too much trial and error.

What I mean by this, is what area do you wash first? When do you dry it? How do you dry it? Etc...

Do you wet the entire car and then dry the entire car or do you do one section at a time? Do you clean the wheels and tires first? What methods do you use to dry the car? How many towels do you usually use and do you wash them in the washing machine after or what? Thanks.
    -HealthyCivic
    Check out the glossary

Re: Car Washing Techniques

Start at the top and work down using ONR, washing and drying one section at a time with microfiber towels.
    AeroCleanse, LLC
    Wisconsin's Elite Detailing Service
    www.aerocleanse.com

Comment

I start with the wheels and tires because dirt will splash on the car from them and then I do the car. Dry with a good microfiber cloth or drying towel. I use the "two bucket" method. One bucket is for rinsing your mitt and the other is for soaping it up.
      2007 Dodge Nitro SLT

Comment

First I would give this a quick read : How to mix your car wash soap

Next, the main idea is to start by thoroughly and carefully rinsing your cool vehicle (ie, do not start on a car that has been sitting in the sun), preferably in at least semi-shade with the water. You want to "push" the dirt and dust starting at the TOP of the vehicle DOWN and off of the vehicle.

Work your way around the vehicle and make sure to rinse off as much as you can before physically touching the paint.