• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

industrial soot on my truck

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• industrial soot on my truck

Ok My 02 nissan xterra is always parked outside. I make bourbon for a living so all the soot and fall out (with plant fibers and all) is constantly on my paint. I just do a quick run through wash at my local gas station about three or four times a month depending on the dirt.

what I want to know is a step by step process with product (and its benefits) to keep my paint from peeling off...my last car (97 grand prix se) had huge spots where the paint and the clear coat were eaten away from all the industrial fallout and me not taking proper care of it either don't want this happening again ....

Re: industrial soot on my truck

its never the best thing for paint to be exposed to this sort of environment, but in this case it is unavoidable, best thing could be regular washes, claying to remove the surface contaminants, paint cleaners, waxes/sealants (thats the detailing side of things), also i believe there is a non-meguiars sealant, that you can get three layers on your car.

my other thought is these clear films added to cars, like stone chip protection, obviously the whole car would need doing, and you may want to get a detailer to remove any defects underneath the film before hand (otherwise you will seal all the swirls and scratches in under the film, not a good look)

Hope this helps

Comment

Just an FYI, kyxteraaguy, I moved your thread into Detailing 101 as that is where a question of this nature belongs.