• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wash or Wipe after Rain?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wash or Wipe after Rain?

Wash or Wipe after Rain?

How do you guys deal with rain? I'm brand new to detailing and I have a brand new black Honda Civic. I went to the gym this morning and apparently it rained for like 10 minutes because I came out and the cars were all wet and then the sun was out so it was creating water spots extremely fast. So the spots got all over the car. Unfortunately, I still have to go to work soon so I had no time to wash or rinse the car, plus the sun was out in full force so I wouldn't want to do that anyway.

So what I did was try to do a Q.D. to remove the mineral spots but I was kinda in a rush and it was my first time dealing with this on the new car. The MF towels I used got black dirt really quick because the minerals so I ended up using a bunch of them.

Anyway, how do you guys deal with rain? As much as I'd like to avoid it, that's not realistic and rain happens. Thanks!
    -HealthyCivic
    Check out the glossary

Re: Dealing With Rain

Rain is a problem.

Not much you can do except what you tried or wash the car or later wash the car and if you find water spots then clean, polish and protect.

How bad the spots are depends upon what's in the air when it rains, the more pollution in the air then it's likely the water spots can be worse.

There really isn't an easy answer except to maintain a good coat of wax or a paint sealant on your car and then do your best to keep it clean to the best of your abilities...

Sometimes because of priorities, (work), there's not much you can do.