• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hi, some info on new paint job please.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi, some info on new paint job please.

Hi, I would like to say hello as this is my first post, my name is Ryan and I am in the uk

Right I would like some info please; I own a BMW e39 sport mtec 2000.

The wings have a few stone chips on them so they are being re-sprayed; I am not a newbie to this but has been a while so some info would be grate.

The wing got sprayed on Wednesday by me in my work shop (24th dec) and now needs to be wet sanded just to remove the orange peel and any little nips in the finish.

How long till I can start the wet sand, it has been in there since the 24th, if I was to start on the 28th this should be ok yes?

All so the paint has to FULLY CURE, which could take a good month or 2.

If so I don’t want to wax it for that time, but if I am using scratch x / 3m liquid compound / and 3m finess on a buffer is it safe to use them after I have done my wet sanding or could I just wipe over the wing with panel wipe after I have finished to leave noting on the paint so it can breath to fully cure etc?

If you could help that would be fantastic.

Ryan.

Re: Hi, some info on new paint job please.

I would suggest waiting a few weeks before you attempt to do anything with fresh paint.

With such a large area you're going to have to wait awhile. Once you heat it up, its going to come right off. Using a buffer or even by hand, you can create enough friction to heat the paint and ruin your fresh coat.

I am not a professional, nowhere close, but from what I've come across - you'll want to let it cure before you begin to buff or sand it.

EDIT: