• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The Hopeless Case Hood (Restoration Success)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Hopeless Case Hood (Restoration Success)

Here's a link to my PhotoBucket slide show for the steps used to restore the hopeless case hood.

PS - I'm still learning about PhotoBucket so I appreciate any comments to help me improve the slide show.

Product comments are listed below.

First, I was truly shocked at how the hood turned out. I had no idea it would shine like it did when I started. I had already planned to spend $400 to have the hood repainted. If I destroyed the finish in the restoration process, it already a lost cause before I started. I was completely surprised at how Meguiar's products help me restore the finish to an acceptable level.

For the cutting and polishing steps, I used a mix of three products.

1) Meguiar's Ultimate Spray Detailer to wet the surface before applying the other products. I sprayed it all over the hood before applying the other products to lubricate the pad in all areas. The buffer runs at 1800 RPM. It is from the Ingersol Rand professional products line when it was purchased. I also used Meguiar's Ultimate Detailer to lubricate the wet sanding process. I do not recommend this type of buffer for home use. I used an 1800-RPM buffer like it in the days when I worked on a detailing assembly line and was buffing about 8 cars a day. It was the standard issue professional compounding buffer at most used car lots 30 years ago.