• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will M80 remove 2000 Grit wet sand area? Or should I hand apply M105?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will M80 remove 2000 Grit wet sand area? Or should I hand apply M105?

My car was keyed, but it seems I can probably get 90% of it out with a wet sand and buff.

I have a DA and I am not sure if I should use M80 after I wet sand, as I am not sure if it will remove the marks.

I heard not to use M105 with a DA, but others have... I'm not a pro with the DA, only used it a few times with nice results.

Should I wet sand with 2000 grit, and hand apply the M105, or should I try and remove the 2000 grit scratches with M80 and a DA? Will M80 work?

Thanks,
    Darren

Re: Will M80 remove 2000 Grit wet sand area? Or should I hand apply M105?

Can it be done?

Maybe, depends upon how hard the paint is and what you use for a buffing pad.

The removal of sanding marks is best done with a rotary buffer. For spot repair Meguiar's does not have an official product recommendation or procedure because for most enthusiasts this will end up getting them into more trouble than they can get out of.

Basically, anytime you're using a tool with a clutch, that is when you apply too much pressure the clutch kicks in and the pad stops rotating, then you're going to lose ability to abrade the paint, i.e. remove the sanding marks.

Check out this thread,
    Can You Use the PC to Polish-out #2000 Grit Sanding Marks?

You would have better luck using M105 with a DA Polisher and a small diameter pad or just use your hand to remove the sanding marks with M105 and then come back with the M80 and a polishing pad on the DA to restore gloss and clarity.