• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is this Oxidation? or Did i ruin my clear coat?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this Oxidation? or Did i ruin my clear coat?

Hello everyone. This is my first post so bare with me. I'm new to car detailing and have only waxed my car once in my many years of owning a car. That experience alone stopped me from any further detailing activities to my newer cars since it didnt turn out so well.

The car I detailed was a 1991 Honda Accord LX. I cant even remember the year I tried waxing, but i jumped right into it and used a product by Meguiars called "Cleaner Wax" which came in a tub. It tried it and I'm not sure if i damaged the paint. The hood still looks very shiny, but the roof, and the two rear door look cloudy and doesn't really give a nice reflection anymore.

Below are some pictures. Did i do damage to the paint/clear coat or is this just oxidization? Is this salvageable? How do i go about restoring the finish to my car? thanks.

Re: Is this Oxidation? or Did i ruin my clear coat?

That looks to just be oxidation.

Do you know if some of the car or panels were repainted at some point in their lifetime? Kind of weird for some panels to fade and not others.

Ryan
    Attack life, it's going to kill you anyway.

This is your life. Choose to live it to the fullest.

Comment

the rear drivers side of the car except the drivers door looks like it is fairly oxidized
      Nick
      Tucker's Detailing Services
      815-954-0773
      2012 Ford Transit Connect

Comment

To my Eyes it looks like oxidation.
        Joel
        Firefighter/EMT-B
        Rejuvenation Auto Detailing
        "Satisfaction Guaranteed or Your Dirt Back!!!"