• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie needs help selecting products to restore original paint

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie needs help selecting products to restore original paint

Newbie needs help selecting products to restore original paint?

I am a Newbie and wanted to know what product(s) or techniques I should use to bring the original paint on my car back to life. My car is a 1965 Right Hand Drive Australian VW 1500. It still has the original paint and interior. The paint is a single stage paint lacquer or enamel. There is some burn through marks from years of the sun beaming down on the roof but it’s still a very presentable car.

In the Volkswagen world, the car is only original once so it's vitally important to me to keep the original paint. Repainting this car is not an option so it has to be done right the first time. I want to do the best I can to restore and preserve the original paint.

I don't have a rotary buffer and frankly, they scare me. I do have an Orbital Buffer.

The paint has scratches and some light sanding marks which look they from #2000 grit sanding paper, so there has been some wet-sanding done in some spots. There are some areas where it looks like the paint has hard water stains all over it, these spots do come off but it takes a ton of effort.

I am removing all the trim and masking off the high points and the rubber seals. My thoughts were to try the M105 Ultra Cut Compound, good idea or something else? Any thoughts or insight would be greatly appreciated

Here are some pictures of the car. It’s actually pretty oxidized and needs a lot of attention so don't let the pictures fool you.

Before