• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Glazes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Glazes

Mike,
    I am sure this has been mentioned somewhere, but...

On the subject of glazes what are their benefits, and where in the process should they be applied?

Wash & clean, polish, glaze, wax? Do they really do something that polished don't? Is there a special thread on the site regarding glazes?

Thank you.

DSG
    I'm by far an expert on this stuff but I can tell you I've been using Meguiar's #7 glaze on my show car for many years. A gaze will basically hide surface imperfecions and swirls (to a certain degree) and adds oils to the paint which give it a wet look. It adds depth and richness to the paint. Since a glaze is more or less of a polish, it doesn't have any cleaning abilities and won't remove any paint defects but will hide them,,,that is until the glaze wears off. Glaze should be used right before wax. You mainly want to use the wax to protect the surface you have cleaned, prepped, polished and glazed.

I'm sure the experts on the board (of which there are many!) can add much more here but I wanted to share at least what I do know...

Comment

Hey,

Meguiar's #7 Show Car Glaze is a pure polish. As the poster mentioned above, it does not contain cleaners. Therefore, its main purpose is to beautify by adding rich polishing oils to the surface of the paint. A pure polish will help hide slight imperfections. But they will not hide moderate swirl marks.

As to when to use, I like to use it after all of my polishing/cleaning steps have be completed. I then top it with NXT Tech Wax or the #20/26 combo. So, to clarify, as an example

#83 + #82 + #7(or #3, #5, or #81) + NXT

Cheers!