• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help! detailing car for first time!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! detailing car for first time!

Hello Everyone,
    Im new to Meguiars online and a new car owner. I have never owned such a nice car and I hope to maintain its paint as much as possible. Im still trying to learn the ropes of this site. I cant afford a full detail by pro shops and I DONT have access to a garage at all.

I have the following items:
    -Meguiars Gold Class Paste wax
    -Meguiars smooth surface clay kit ( w/Quick Detailer,2 clay bars, 4oz of cleaner wax, and Microfiber cloths)
    -Meguiars Gold Class car wash

I was wondering if these steps would be fine:
    -Wash car with Gold Class car wash and then DRY
    -Use meguiars smooth surface clay kit all over the car
    -then wax with the Gold class Paste wax, then wipe off?

So far I just wash with just regular soap and water since I fear screwing up the paint, its just my luck.
    I have NEVER used wax, and I fear if I apply it I will miss a spot that will bake into the paint. (Car is a dark grey charcoal color if it matters)
    How long should wax be left on before removing? Is it better to take off by hand and cloth or should I buy a buffer and learn to use it?
    Since I dont have a garage is it better if I wax early in the morning or in the evening?

Im apologize for being such a newbie with all these questions. I would appreciate any info from anyone, Thank you all for your valuable time and insight.
    Sincerely -BH

Re: Help! detailing car for first time!

1. Calm down.

2. Dont need a buffer to take car of things. I would do this: