• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Orange Peel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Orange Peel

Hi, will 3000 grit wet sanding get rid of orange peel?

Its my first time doing it so I don't want to get too aggressive. Is 3000 grit dangerous for a beginner at all?

how would i sand concave surfaces? just press a foam pad down into it?

Also, is 3000 grit safe to use near or on the edges? I got a cheap spot bumper repair with lots of orange peel. they aren't willing to fix it because the price of the bumper repair isnt enough to pay for a new coat of paint in case they fail. they taped it off at the edges. Is it safe to try smoothing that out or is it better to leave it alone.

will hand compounding with 3M rubbing compound get rid of sanding scratches?

Re: Orange Peel

What are you working on?
    2017 Subaru WRX Premium - WR Blue

Comment

a bumper spot repair with orange peel

Comment

Sorry to be negative, but....

"...will 3000 grit wet sanding get rid of orange peel?"
        Not really. #3000 is meant for removing sanding scratch caused by coarser abrasives. To remove OP from a topcoat you'd typically use something between #1000 and #1500.

"Its my first time doing it so I don't want to get too aggressive. Is 3000 grit dangerous for a beginner at all?"
        Any and all sanding is dangerous for a beginner. One should practice a lot before working on anything you care about.

"how would i sand concave surfaces? just press a foam pad down into it?"
        Yes, it's typically done with flexible backing pads.

"Also, is 3000 grit safe to use near or on the edges?"
        See second answer above, only a lot worse.