• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

HELP! New to DA and BIG project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP! New to DA and BIG project

Hey Guys,
    I've been reading the forum forever, and always wanted to buy the G110. Yesterday while driving on 95 I was forced off the road by another driver and into a orange plastic traffic barrel. When I got out of the car to look at the damage to my beloved brand new Black Audi, there are scrapes down the side of the car. I ran my nail over the marks and they are not textured. I've never used a DA before, and I am looking for suggestions for pads and products. Originally, I was thinking Ultimate Compound, W9006 Finishing Pad, W8006 Polishing pad, W7006 cutting pad, and NXT Generation Wax. After reading a bit further, I thought maybe I should consider M105 Ultimate Cutting Compound and a wool pad. However, I read that M105 is more effective with a rotary and only necessary when wet sanding. If I have to wet sand the car I will most likely take it to a professional. PLEASE HELP! I will take pictures soon. Thanks guys!
    Last edited by MMalvin; May 7, 2009, 03:57 PM.

Re: HELP! New to DA and BIG project

I wouldn't jump immediately to Ultimate Compound. Try SwirlX first - remember the advice of using the least aggressive method. Chances are something as mild like SwirlX or maybe even the original ScratchX might remove the damage for you. You may not even have to use a DA. Try hand polishing the damaged areas first, then graduate to the DA. Cutting pads should only be used if aggressive products like UC combined with a polishing pad fail to remove the damage.