• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie question: Difference in cutting and polishing pads.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie question: Difference in cutting and polishing pads.

Hello,
    I'm new to detailing and I'm having difficulty finding a definitive answer in regards to pads. I want to remove some swirl and light scratch marks from my black car after washing, claying, and orbital buffing (probably Meguiars UC) but don't know what type of pad to use. Is a cutting pad for a serious scratch removal project? Will a polishing pad be sufficient? Or is it vice versa, i don't know which one is more aggresive. Any advice and actual pad brand/ type recommendations would be much appreciated.

Best regards,

Joe

Re: Newbie question: Difference in cutting and polishing pads.

Welcome to Meguiars Online!!
    A cutting pad is for severe oxidation and deep scratches.
    A polishing pad should be enough. Although I would start with SwirlX and not Ultiamte Compound. Remember start with the least aggressive method possible. Also, I would buy some Grit Gaurds, and make sure you are using the correct dilution and a high quality wash soap. Such as Gold Class Shampoo and Conditioner.
    Joel
    Firefighter/EMT-B
    Rejuvenation Auto Detailing
    "Satisfaction Guaranteed or Your Dirt Back!!!"
    '99 F-150

Comment

My cutting pad has been collecting dust since I got it last season. As per advice from this forum (& also from the 'How To Use The PC7424'-DVD...or whatever it's called), I tried putting a bonnet over it and then use it to remove wax but after trying it once I personally liked the results I got with removing wax by hand using a microfiber towel.