• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you repair a rock chip with a touch-up paint pen?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you repair a rock chip with a touch-up paint pen?

I am new to all of this. I brought home my brand new car last week. I washed it with Gold Class car wash, waxed it with Gold Class liquid wax and two days later I got a rock chip. I have a touch-up paint pen from my dealer, but I have absolutely no idea what to do. I am assuming I wash the car, but after that I am lost!! Should I clay the area? If I can't find Meguiars grit sandpaper in my area, will any sandpaper with the same grit level do? Do I have to prime? Any guidance would be appreciated.

Re: How do you repair a rock chip with a touch-up paint pen?

Well it's kinda easy and hard.
    You need to clean out the chip, I use lacquer thinner.
    Then I paint the whole.
    Let it dry for a few days
    Then I wet sand it smooth.
    Finish with M105 and a wool pad on a rotary
    That's it in a nut shell
    Look here for some more answers Wet-Sanding, Color Sanding, Rock Chip Repair

Comment

I do not own a rotary. Can I do it by hand?

Comment

Well, the other less perfect technique is mine....

Clean out the chip as needed, I usually use a little sandpaper to get any loose edges.

Then apply the paint with a toothpick, in little thin dabs. Let dry a bit in between dabs.

By doing it thin, I dont build up the mound to sand down, but it doesnt look as perfect either. But it avoids the sanding process.
        2017 Subaru WRX Premium - WR Blue

Comment

^^^^^^ I agree

Originally posted by newcar2009 View Post
          I do not own a rotary. Can I do it by hand?
          Yes you can.