• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Scratch removal.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scratch removal.

Hello all. Long time lurker here and I could use some help.

Sitting at Dairy Queen for some ice cream with my daughter and some kid runs over to my car and runs his toy car over my hood, leaving a decent scratch.

09 Mazda CX7. Galaxy Gray. The scratch is about 6 inches long and not sure if it is thru the clearcoat, I want to say no but Im no expert. I run my nail over it and can feel it is there very slightly but my nail doesnt get stuck or grabbed at all.

I went out and got some ScratchX and already have some NXT Tech Wax. My plan is to wash the area (NXT car wash), apply ScratchX with Foam Applicator a few times, then wax. Is that my best plan of action for success or am I missing anything?

Re: Scratch removal.

Any tips regarding the specific application process of the ScratchX (pressure used, direction applied, microfibers, number of applications, etc) would also be appreciated.

Thanks.

Comment

If you have a clay kit, you it first (this is of course, after using NXT car wash). Then, use ScratchX (2.0 is better) with a foam pad. ScratchX will work better with a prepped surface (clay). You probably need to use ScratchX more than once. Then, apply a coat of TechWax.

It will not be perfect, since you mention that you can feel it with your finger nail. However, it will be BETTER.

Comment

Originally posted by mpro112 View Post
        Any tips regarding the specific application process of the ScratchX (pressure used, direction applied, microfibers, number of applications, etc) would also be appreciated.

Thanks.