• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to remove it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to remove it?

I'm extremely new to the world of delailing, and I now have a new respect for professional detailers. I thought it was simply washing and waxing a car. Well, I've been reading through some posts, and I'm taking baby steps in the process. I don't have an orbital buffer so everything will be done by hand. The car is a 98 white Nissan Altima that has never been waxed up to this point. I washed the vehicle and clayed it, but I can't seem to remove all the surface contaminants. It almost looks like there is a thin grey dust on the paint. The clay seems to remove it if I spend enough time rubbing it, but it is hard to remove all of it. I'm planning on going to Pepboys or Autozone tomorrow and just need a product list. What products and steps should I do to it?
    Thanks

I'm defininately not a professional (just an enthusiast (sp?)). And I'm definately not the best on this board. But I'll give my 2 cents

Try using a more agressive clay, like Overspray clay (C-2100). If the regular clay (consumer line) is removing the "dust", but taking a lot of effort, the more aggressive clay should cut the time. The good news is that it is comming off. Unfortunately, your car is 7 years old, and that is lots of time to get contaminates into the paint. Keep us posted

Comment