• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to do it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to do it?

Hey everyone, i purchased yesterday a paint restoration kit, mostly thinking about the ultimate compound, the towels and foam aplicators. My bonnet has swirls and small "wetsanding like" scratches. Before messing up i thought about asking you guys about the procedure. I saw a lot videos and I studied quite a bit but still i need an experienced member opinion:

Washing with the gold class shampoo
    claying with quick detailer lubrication the necessary spots
    ultimate compound by hand with the foam aplicator
    waxing with gold class carnauba plus

is it a good way to go, if done correctly?

thanks in advance

marcos

Re: How to do it?

Hi Marcos,

You have the proper approach for your car but I would make some corrections:

I would clay the entire car and not just the necessary spots. If you haven't clayed your car in a long time then it's best to do the entire car. It will make your paint feel smooth as glass.

Ultimate Compound is the most aggressive product in Meguiar's consumer line. Meguiar's always advocates using the least aggressive product to get the job done. Do you have SwirlX in your arsenal? If so, I would start with that first and if it doesn't solve your problem or meet your expectation then you need to step it up to Ultimate Compound. There's nothing wrong with using UC straight... Just wanted to point out Meguiar's recommendations.