• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Which compound, polish, wax do I buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which compound, polish, wax do I buy?

I have a '00 21' Malibu ski boat that is new to me, and that was clearly babied by the previous owner. It looks showroom new, and I want to keep it that way.

I also have an '02 F-150 and an '01 VW (plus a minivan that I have no intention of ever washing :-)).

Anyway, in my Amazon cart I have the following so far:

Now I need to add the right compund, cleaner, polish, and wax... but there are sooo many.

Note I am totally new to this. I've never used a buffer, and the last time I waxed a car was 15 years ago (before I got married and had kids). My truck and car are 10+ years old, but in great shape. That said, they both have some scratches that I wouldn't mind diminishing. My boat is pristine, and only needs to be maintained as such - no scratches or swirls to remove, there.

Specifically, do I need "cutting" pads or M105 "ultra cut" compound? Or is "ultimate" all I need? What about the rest (cleaner, polish, sealer)?

Also, anything different in the 5 step process for gel coat (i.e. boat vs. auto)? Should i only be looking to use the buffer and pads on the boat, and use boat polish/wax and not Meg's?

Any advice appreciated...
    Last edited by dfelicia; Apr 13, 2012, 10:11 AM. Reason: formatting

Re: Which compound, polish, wax do I buy?

You may want to check out Autodetailingsolutions.com for a price comparison for things. Esp if you need some towels, etc in bulk.

As far as products:
    1. Wash - Gold Class soap, 2 buckets, Grit Guard, good quality mitts and drying towels.