• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting Honda repainted

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting Honda repainted

I haven't been so nice and consistence with my car care over the years. But I am new to this. Have read many forums, which have added to my confusion. I am having my Honda painted by Maaco (yeah I said it) but that is what I can afford at the moment. I would like to know what to do and what not to do. Heard about the first 3 weeks no washing, then after 90 days wax or use a sealant. Heard about using Klasse sealant, Wolfgang and clay stuff.

I am lost and just need some direction.

Re: Getting Honda repainted

You should inquire if they would put in the clear coat.

After the paint job, you can wash and polish the car the next day but no wax for at least 30 days. This wait period depends on the paint used, the environment (temperature, humidity...), etc. I myself waited painfully for 90 days last time when one of my panels was painted.

After this "out-gas" process, you can use any wax or sealant to protect the paint.

Comment

Hi i can tell you my experience about paint job on cars,

I personally do it myself, but you need to take care of 2 things first.

If your car is dual layer (prime+color+clear coat) or if it is single stage (prime+color), in the first case most of materials used on it are synthetic materials such as polymers and stuff, if your dealer is using one of this the "cure" time is about 30-60 days, but this is only a believe, for better case you need to ask what material are they using and search for its technical sheet.

this is one of dupont chroma clear. http://pc.dupont.com/dpc/en/US/html/...369S_2370S.pdf