• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

$50 Rustoleum paint job on 1st gen xterra.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• $50 Rustoleum paint job on 1st gen xterra.

Hello all!

I just wanted to show my progress on my Rusto job. I am an noob in this realm and this is my first time please don't dog pile me. But I am taking my time and doing my best to take the proper steps. I am divorcing and quite broke at the moment. I followed the steps of the guy who did his hood in black on here. Thats about the best job I have seen so far. I bought this Xterra wrecked and fixed it. Any advice would be appreciated greatly! I did not have a porter cable buffer, just a cheapo rotary. I have painted a lot of guitars so I was familiar with the sanding progress but I have never done a whole vehicle. I striped just about everything off the vehicle.

- Grandfather fixed the frame for me.
    - replaced hood
    - Inner fender
    - Qtr panel
    - Blinker
    - Brake line was damaged from the wreck, but that was an easy fix.
    - bumper & grille

[IMG]www,dasflux.net/xterra/xterrasmall3.jpg[/IMG]

Laugh at my redneck engineering I dont know if this is really helping me a lot.

Help from my lovely daughter.

Interior shot

Just wanted to visualize it with something on it! Unsanded here.

Unsanded, still problems in this.