Problems with Meguiars Ultimate Polish
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problems with Meguiars Ultimate Polish

Registered Member

Problems with Meguiars Ultimate Polish

So I'm fairly new to detailing, but watched every video and read every "how to" that I could come across trying to pick up the basics. So I bought a 2004 Subaru last week (black) and while the paint didn't look horrible it had some swirl marks and hard water spots on the roof, so I decided to try Meguiars Ultimate Compound followed by a Maguiars Ultimate Polish using a PC 7424 polisher and buffing out by hand using microfiber cloths, needless to say the results were far less than satisfactory. First of all the compound failed to remove any of the swirl marks or water spots, this after repeated passes working in small areas, but the real problem was when I got to the polish, it was almost IMPOSSIBLE to remove by hand, even after using the PC in small 1' x 1' areas, using plenty of product; the entire car now has this hazy look to it. I even tried doing it again today using the Ultimate Polish by hand using a new foam applicator, and it turned out even worse...

Any tips on what I might be doing wrong?

Re: Problems with Meguiars Ultimate Polish

Meguiar's polishes, compounds/cleaners are not to be applied and removed like wax. You will encounter problems if done that way. You have to massage them into the paint until it becomes a clearer, and is removed while wet. Did you use the correct pad combination? It could also come from using too much product, so instead of the compound breaking down and getting clear, you may be ending up with too much unbroken down product drying on the paint and making removal real bad and difficult. If not, it can either make the paint look hazy or remove none of the swirls.

Pro/Marine/RV Product Manager Markus Kleis's Avatar