• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wet-sanding an '87 Pickup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wet-sanding an '87 Pickup

Hey guys, so I have this customer who wants me to wet-sand and then polish up his '87 Toyota truck that he just repainted himself. He's told me that there are a few dust nibs and its just not very glossy and he doesn't have the time to finish the job. I've told him that I'm still a beginner with wet-sanding and I've only done minor spot areas before (I learned last Sumer at the NXT 2.0 class). He's okay with this and has said that its fine if I use his truck as a guinea pig (his words) so I'd like to get the experience, but also want to make sure that I do the best job I can and charge accordibgly.

So, a couple questions:

First off, with it just being resprayed, do I want to wait on the final waxing until its cured? Anything else I should know as far as timing with the respray being so recent?

I'm planning on probably going over it with 1500 then 3000 grit followed by M105 assuming I get the results necessary with this plan. Does this sound practical and should I have other grits on hand as well (if so which ones)?

I don't have a ton of sanding disks, so I will be ordering some more (the job will be in about 3 weeks if it happens), but how many should I expect to go through on an entire car?

Finally, I need to come up with a ballpark price to quote him when we meet and look at it, and I'm wondering what you guys think. As a reference, since prices vary, for spot wet-sanding I've charged my hourly rate ($50/hr) in the past, and if I were to do a full wash, clay, compound (300) and wax (301) on this truck I'd charge about $220.