• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Well I screwed up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Well I screwed up

I'm an admitted newbie at detailing. I don't detail my car too often but try to keep it clean. I have a 1 year old black Audi.

Anyways, I was at Costco on a sunny day and noticed a bird dropping on my trunk. I thought myself smart because I kept a bottle of 70% isopropyl alcohol with a bunch of those very bright yellow microfiber towels from costco.

So first mistake was doing this in the sun. Worse yet I soaked a microfiber towel and put it over the bird droppings and wiped some of it away, then left the rest to soak for a bit to soften it. BIG MISTAKE. I got distracted, promptly forgot about it and went to get some supplies. I came back to my car to find my towel still sitting there soaking the bird poop in the sun about an hour later.

To my horror I found that I was easily able to remove the bird poop but the spot where I left the towel is now GREEN. It's almost a flourscent green, really hard to see at night or in dim lighting, but very easily spotted in direct sunlight. (it almost glows)

I'm not sure what has happened. I tried Meguiar's ultimate compound but it doesn't seem to have touched it. I can't imagine isopropyl has eaten through my clear coat? Is it just a dye transfer from the microfiber towel? ANY suggestion would be appreciated. I can't believe I screwed up so badly and my only consolation is that it's on the trunk and not on the hood.

Pictures below

Re: Well I screwed up